Starting today, X will let you know if a post you’ve left a Community Note on gets deleted.
The company formerly known as Twitter announced the change via a tweet from the Community Notes account.
Community Notes are a Twitter feature that allows users to collaboratively add context to a tweet that might be misleading. For instance, if someone tweets that the earth is flat, you could potentially add a note letting people know that science has proven that the planet is, in fact, round. If enough people agree that your note is helpful, then it will be shown along with the tweet for others, providing context for a statement that might be false.
Previously, if you left a note on a tweet you’d need to check back to know if the tweet was removed. Now, you’ll receive a notification from X letting you know that the original tweeter has decided to remove their
Earlier this week, Twitter made another change to the Community Notes voting system. Now users will see more note proposals before being asked to rate them for inclusion on the original post.
Recommended by Our Editors
In May X added Community Notes to images, allowing users to leave notes on those posts as well as text-based tweets. That particular decision was made after an AI-generated image of an explosion at the Pentagon went viral on the platform.
Get Our Best Stories!
Sign up for What’s New Now to get our top stories delivered to your inbox every morning.